Can I open-source GitHub Copilot?
YES · mature open-source replacementYes. OpenCode (194k stars), Zed (88k stars), OpenHands (83k stars) are mature open-source replacements for GitHub Copilot — self-host in one command and stop paying $10/mo.
They pay because low-latency completion and repo-aware coding are available in their editor without setup.
xnative GitHub/IDE integration
xfast completions
xmodel routing
xcode review/security features
xmanaged billing
xteam controls
These projects already replace it, free.
OOpenCodeA fast local coding agent with no loyalty to any model vendor.open source↗ZZedA fast open editor with completions, chat and agents built in; model usage is separate.open source↗CClineA code agent in your editor; the model bill is still yours.open source↗What each one is, in full: OpenCode · Zed · Cline
all 8 open-source alternatives to GitHub Copilot →· no votes, no pay-to-list · just what's real
GitHub Copilot pricing
| plan | monthly | annual (per mo) | what you get |
|---|---|---|---|
| free | $0/user | $0/user | 2,000 code completions/month; AI-credit allowance exists but its numeric amount is not publicly stated; automatic model selection only. |
| student | $0/user | $0/user | Unlimited code completions; AI-credit allowance exists but its numeric amount is not publicly stated. |
| pro | $10/user | — | 1,500 AI credits/month: 1,000 base plus 500 Flex; unlimited code completions. |
| pro+ | $39/user | — | 7,000 AI credits/month: 3,900 base plus 3,100 Flex; unlimited code completions. |
| max | $100/user | — | 20,000 AI credits/month: 10,000 base plus 10,000 Flex; unlimited code completions. |
| business | $19/user | — | Standard allowance is 1,900 AI credits/user/month; temporary June-August 2026 promotion raises it to 3,000 through August 31, 2026. |
| enterprise | $39/user | — | Standard allowance is 3,900 AI credits/user/month; temporary June-August 2026 promotion raises it to 7,000 through August 31, 2026. |
free tier2,000 code completions/month; AI-credit quantity is not publicly stated; automatic model selection only
billingnew individual subscriptions are monthly only; legacy annual Pro/Pro+ subscriptions remain on the old request model until renewal
hidden costsExtra AI credits cost $0.01 each and unused monthly credits do not roll over; Copilot code review can also consume separately billed GitHub Actions minutes.
verified 2026-08-14 · source ↗
Can I open-source GitHub Copilot?
Yes. OpenCode replaces GitHub Copilot today — self-host it on your own server or machine with no subscription. The full list of open-source alternatives is on this page.
How much does GitHub Copilot cost?
GitHub Copilot costs about $10/month (Pro, checked 2026-07-30), which is $120 per year. That's what you save by replacing it with open source.
What do I lose by replacing GitHub Copilot?
Honestly: native GitHub/IDE integration; fast completions; model routing; code review/security features; managed billing; team controls. If any of those are load-bearing for you, keep paying.
Is there an open-source alternative to GitHub Copilot?
Yes: OpenCode (A fast local coding agent with no loyalty to any model vendor.) Zed (A fast open editor with completions, chat and agents built in; model usage is separate.) Cline (A code agent in your editor; the model bill is still yours.) All 8 curated open-source alternatives are at caniopensourceit.online/github-copilot/alternatives.