Can I open-source LANDR Studio?
YES · mature open-source replacementYes. Audacity (18k stars), Navidrome (14k stars) are mature open-source replacements for LANDR Studio — self-host in one command and stop paying $12/mo.
People still pay for LANDR Studio because the product is the catalog, rights chain, and distribution network; a player or processing tool is only the visible edge. The recurring cost buys catalog licensing, royalties, identity, content delivery, moderation, recommendations, payouts, codecs, and rights disputes, not just the visible interface.
xproprietary mastering, distribution, plugins, samples, collaboration, and rights workflow
xlicensed music catalog
xroyalty and distribution relationships
xglobal streaming infrastructure
xartist network and recommendations
These projects already replace it, free.
AAudacityThe unglamorous local release bench: edit, normalize, batch, export, repeat.open source↗NNavidromeStreams your own music collection to Subsonic-compatible apps from a single tiny binary.open source↗What each one is, in full: Audacity · Navidrome
no votes, no pay-to-list · just what's real
LANDR Studio pricing
| plan | monthly | annual (per mo) | what you get |
|---|---|---|---|
| free account | $0/user | $0/user | Free account available; numeric mastering, distribution and storage caps are not publicly specified. |
| studio essentials | — | $8.25/user | 200 GB library storage; 3-day trial; unlimited watermarked MP3 masters during trial; 200+ courses. |
| studio standard | — | $12/user | 200 GB library storage; 3-day trial; unlimited watermarked MP3 masters during trial; 200+ courses; Mastering Plugin SE. |
| studio pro | — | $16/user | 200 GB library storage; 3-day trial; unlimited watermarked MP3 masters during trial; 200+ courses; Mastering Plugin Pro. |
free tierA free account exists, but numeric mastering, distribution and storage caps are not publicly specified.
billingPublic Studio cards are annual; Essentials is $8.25/month equivalent, Standard $12 and the current Pro promotion $16. The 3-day trial auto-starts paid billing unless canceled.
hidden costsTrial MP3 masters are watermarked and trial accounts cannot submit releases; mechanical licensing for a cover song costs $15/track; other marketplace plugins/services can be separate purchases.
verified 2026-08-12 · source ↗
Can I open-source LANDR Studio?
Yes. Audacity replaces LANDR Studio today — self-host it on your own server or machine with no subscription. The full list of open-source alternatives is on this page.
How much does LANDR Studio cost?
LANDR Studio costs about $12/month (Studio Standard, checked 2026-08-12), which is $144 per year. That's what you save by replacing it with open source.
What do I lose by replacing LANDR Studio?
Honestly: proprietary mastering, distribution, plugins, samples, collaboration, and rights workflow; licensed music catalog; royalty and distribution relationships; global streaming infrastructure; artist network and recommendations. If any of those are load-bearing for you, keep paying.
Is there an open-source alternative to LANDR Studio?
Yes: Audacity (The unglamorous local release bench: edit, normalize, batch, export, repeat.) Navidrome (Streams your own music collection to Subsonic-compatible apps from a single tiny binary.)