Can I open-source Tactiq?
YES · mature open-source replacementYes. Whisper (75k stars), Meetily (26k stars), OpenWhispr (5k stars) are mature open-source replacements for Tactiq — self-host with docker and stop paying $12/mo.
People still pay for Tactiq because a meeting tool must capture every call without surprising anyone, then make the result searchable and shareable across a team. The recurring cost buys audio permissions, model updates, calendar APIs, storage, speaker correction, and sync, not just the visible interface.
xbrowser integration polish, multilingual handling, sharing, and automations
xcalendar auto-join
xreliable speaker diarization
xmobile capture
xteam search and sharing
These projects already replace it, free.
OOpenWhisprCross-platform meeting capture, transcript cleanup and AI notes without a browser extension or minute meter.open source↗MMuesliSkips browser captions and records the actual call instead, then cleans it into notes on your Mac.open source↗MMeeting TranscriberAuto-detects common meeting apps on Mac, transcribes locally and writes structured notes.open source↗all 5 open-source alternatives to Tactiq →· no votes, no pay-to-list · just what's real
Tactiq pricing
| plan | monthly | annual (per mo) | what you get |
|---|---|---|---|
| free | $0/user | $0/user | 10 transcripts per month and 5 AI credits per month. |
| pro | $12/user | $8/user | Unlimited transcripts and 10 AI credits per month. |
| team | $20/user | $16.67/user | Unlimited transcripts and unlimited AI credits. |
| business | $40/user | $29.16/user | Unlimited transcripts and AI credits, plus retention controls, AI agents, customer success, and SSO. |
| enterprise | custom | — | Custom deployment for roughly 200+ users; public price and numeric usage limits are not stated. |
free tier10 transcripts per month and 5 AI credits per month.
billingmonthly + annual
hidden costsBusiness is positioned for 20+ users and Enterprise for 200+, but the public page does not state contractual seat minimums.
verified 2026-08-14 · source ↗
Can I open-source Tactiq?
Yes. OpenWhispr replaces Tactiq today — self-host it on your own server or machine with no subscription. The full list of open-source alternatives is on this page.
How much does Tactiq cost?
Tactiq costs about $12/month (Pro, checked 2026-07-31), which is $144 per year. That's what you save by replacing it with open source.
What do I lose by replacing Tactiq?
Honestly: browser integration polish, multilingual handling, sharing, and automations; calendar auto-join; reliable speaker diarization; mobile capture; team search and sharing. If any of those are load-bearing for you, keep paying.
Is there an open-source alternative to Tactiq?
Yes: OpenWhispr (Cross-platform meeting capture, transcript cleanup and AI notes without a browser extension or minute meter.) Muesli (Skips browser captions and records the actual call instead, then cleans it into notes on your Mac.) Meeting Transcriber (Auto-detects common meeting apps on Mac, transcribes locally and writes structured notes.) All 5 curated open-source alternatives are at caniopensourceit.online/tactiq/alternatives.