Can I open-source AnyList Complete?
YES · mature open-source replacementYes. Home Assistant (78k stars), Frigate (22k stars), Mealie (13k stars) are mature open-source replacements for AnyList Complete — self-host with docker and stop paying $0.83/mo.
People still pay for AnyList Complete because household apps survive when every family member actually uses them and the data stays current across devices. The recurring cost buys multi-user conflicts, reminders, notifications, imports, barcode data, smart-home APIs, backups, and long-term maintenance, not just the visible interface.
xexcellent mobile capture, retailer integrations, voice assistants, and polished sharing
xfrictionless family sync
xretailer and smart-home integrations
xlarge recipe or product database
xmobile polish
These projects already replace it, free.
MMealieA household recipe server with meal plans and grocery lists; you supply the server and patience.open source↗GGrocyMeal plans and groceries run through a tiny home ERP, because apparently the fridge needed one.open source↗HHome AssistantThe de-facto open-source home automation hub — thousands of integrations, fully local control.open source↗What each one is, in full: Mealie · Home Assistant
all 5 open-source alternatives to AnyList Complete →· no votes, no pay-to-list · just what's real
AnyList Complete pricing
| plan | monthly | annual (per mo) | what you get |
|---|---|---|---|
| anylist free | $0 | $0 | Free list/recipe app; exact numeric caps not disclosed on pricing page. |
| anylist complete individual | — | $0.83/user | Unlocks web/Mac access, recipe import, meal planning calendar, Apple Watch, item photos, location reminders, passcode lock, priority support and photo backup. |
| anylist complete household | — | $1.25 | Household plan for the same Complete features shared by the household. |
free tierfree plan exists; official page did not disclose numeric caps.
billingannual only on public page; no monthly plan published
hidden costsIndividual and household annual subscriptions are separate; no monthly alternative shown.
verified 2026-08-10 · source ↗
Can I open-source AnyList Complete?
Yes. Mealie replaces AnyList Complete today — self-host it on your own server or machine with no subscription. The full list of open-source alternatives is on this page.
How much does AnyList Complete cost?
AnyList Complete costs about $0.83/month (Complete, checked 2026-07-31), which is $9.96 per year. That's what you save by replacing it with open source.
What do I lose by replacing AnyList Complete?
Honestly: excellent mobile capture, retailer integrations, voice assistants, and polished sharing; frictionless family sync; retailer and smart-home integrations; large recipe or product database; mobile polish. If any of those are load-bearing for you, keep paying.
Is there an open-source alternative to AnyList Complete?
Yes: Mealie (A household recipe server with meal plans and grocery lists; you supply the server and patience.) Grocy (Meal plans and groceries run through a tiny home ERP, because apparently the fridge needed one.) Home Assistant (The de-facto open-source home automation hub — thousands of integrations, fully local control.) All 5 curated open-source alternatives are at caniopensourceit.online/anylist-complete/alternatives.